Our Advisory Board

Learn about the advisory board members who support our Social Work Mission and our School.

Interested in Becoming a Student Representative?

Contact Dr. Natalie Ames at natalie_ames@ncsu.edu.

Advisory Board Members

Natalie Ames, MSW, Ed.D.

Associate Professor and Faculty Liaison at the NC State School of Social Work.

Valerie Arendt, MSW, MPP

Executive Director, Registered Lobbyist, National Association of Social Workers North Carolina Chapter (NASW-NC). Board member since 2018.

Mary Bethel, M.Ed.

Executive Director of the NC Coalition on Aging (Retired). Board member since 2015.

Chris Budnick, LCSW, LCAS

Executive Director of Healing Transitions.    Board member since 2003.

Karen Franklin, LCSW, CEAP

Clinical Supervisor, BHS. Vice-Chairperson, Board member since 2018.

Kenisha Hinton, MSW

I/T Project Manager, Innovation Partner – Wake County Government. Chairperson, board member since 2017.

Hayat Shawwa, MSW, LCSW

Primary Therapist, 180 Counseling. Board member since 2022.

Christina McCoy, MSW, JD

Attorney Advocate, Guardian Ad Litem Program, Judicial District 10. Chairperson, board member since 2018.

Rick Miller-Haraway, MSW

Rick Miller-Haraway, LCSW

Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor, UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work

Director, Catholic Charities Raleigh Regional Office (retired). Board member from 2003-2010 & since 2020.

Shelia Reich, MSW

Executive Director of Youth Thrive.              Board member since 2018.

Kim Stansbury, MSW, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and MSW Program Director at the NC State School of Social Work.

Vincent Lella, MSW

Centralized Health Equity Data (CHED) Initiative Team Lead - North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics (SCHS)

Board Member since 2022

Stephanie Francis, MSW, PhD

Director of Field Education at the NC State School of Social Work

Tayler Mariner, MSW, LCSW-A, LCAS

Director of Detox Services at Healing Transitions. Board member since 2020. 

Glodie Motanga, MSW, LCSW-A

Founder and CEO of Glow Care Support, PLLC. Clinical Case Manager at United States Committee for Refugees and Immigrants (USCRI)- North Carolina field office. Board member since 2020.

Bree Elzy, BSBM, LPN

Executive Director, Inspiring Minds Raleigh-Durham

Board member since 2023.

Sultan Hassan, MSW, LCSWA

Clinical Therapist and Educator in North Carolina. Board member since 2023.